Skip to main content

Hemet Unified School District

Main Menu Toggle
Make an Impact!

S.A.F.E. & Zone Expanded Learning Programs

SAFE LOgo Zone Logo

 

S.A.F.E. & Zone Expanded Learning Programs

Home of the CHAMPS
 
                                                        C- Champions Inspire
                                                        H- Have Respect
                                                        A- Accountability
                                                        M- Manage Behavior
                                                        P- Positive Attitude
                                                        S- Strive for Success
 

The Students Achieving in Fun Environments (SAFE) and Zone programs are funded by Proposition 49 voted on by the citizens of California to provide a safe and nurturing environment for youth following school dismissal. Hemet Unified School District in partnership with Valley Wide Recreation and Park District and other community agencies to provide a safe after school environment for students offering opportunities for enrichment, academic support, physical education, and creative learning. 

The SAFE and Zone Programs provide students in grades First through Eighth expanded learning opportunities from school dismissal until 6:00 p.m. or later following regular school days. Activities vary by school, but each program includes these main components:

  • After-School snack
  • Educational and literacy component in content areas
  • Homework time with assistance for clarification
  • Educational enrichment component (visual and performing arts, recreational, physical fitness and prevention activities.)
 
***You may notice a change in our name from After-School to Expanded Learning. This is due to the State renaming the After-School Program Division to the Expanded Learning Division.***
 

Contact Information

For general program questions and information, you may contact the SAFE Office at (951)658-3538 or via email at safe@hemetusd.org .

Office Hours: 8:30 am - 4:00 pm Monday- Friday. 

                                     The SAFE Office is located at 831 East Devonshire Hemet, CA 92543.                                                                    

School: Site Facilitator                                                              Email    

Acacia Middle School: Judy Sullivan                                            Email:  jsulliva@hemetusd.org 
Bautista Creek Elementary: Brandon Chandler                           Email:  bchandler@hemetusd.org 
Cawston Elementary: Raquel Herbranson                                   Email:  rherbran@hemetusd.org
Cottonwood K-8: Veronica Caperon                                             Email:  vcaperon@hemetusd.org 
Dartmouth Middle: Tamara Coronel                                              Email:  tcoronel@hemetusd.org

Diamond Valley Middle: Tim Nadell                                              Email:  tnadel@hemetusd.org
Fruitvale Elementary: Christine Cook                                           Email:  ccook@hemetusd.org  
Hamilton K-8: Teresa Haeckel                                                      Email:  thaeckel@hemetusd,org
Harmony Elementary: Terri Holland                                              Email:  tholland@hemetusd.org 
Hemet Elementary: Wendy Leyva                                                Email:  wleyvahemetel@gmail.com 

Idyllwild K-8: Alexis Sinclair                                                          Email:  asinclair@hemetusd.org 
Jacob Weins Elementary: Cassandra Hernandez                        Email:  chernandez2@hemetusd.org 
Little Lake Elementary: Kathy Candler                                         Email:   kcandler@hemetusd.org
McSweeny Elementary: Geronimo Saenz                                    Email:  gsaenz@hemetusd.org
Ramona Elementary: Collette Smith                                             Email:  csmith1@hemetusd.org
Rancho Viejo Middle: Jordyn Heier                                               Email:  jheier@hemetusd.org 
Valle Vista Elementary: Karie Heier                                              Email:  Kheier@hemetusd.org 
Whittier Elementary: Thonaxcy Delgadillo                                    Email:  tdelgadillo@hemetusd.org 
Winchester Elementary:  Amanda Naus                                       Email:  anaus@hemetusd.org

Enrollment/Policies/Applications

Our program funding relies on regular daily attendance. Therefore all students who register must attend every day that they attend school. Students who have attended the regular instructional day, but are absent from the S.A.F.E./ZONE Program without notification to the Site Facilitator for three or more days may be dropped from the program. Students who are unable to fulfill the attendance requirements will be dropped.

 

Applications: