Skip to main content

Hemet Unified School District

Main Menu Toggle
Make an Impact!

S.A.F.E. & Zone Expanded Learning Programs

S.A.F.E. & Zone  Expanded Learning Programs

Home of the CHAMPS
 
 

The Students Achieving in Fun Environments (SAFE) and Zone programs are funded by Proposition 49 voted on by the citizens of California to provide a safe and nurturing environment for youth following school dismissal. Hemet Unified School District in partnership with Valley Wide Recreation and Park District and other community agencies to provide a safe after school environment for students offering opportunities for enrichment, academic support, physical education, and creative learning. 

The SAFE and Zone Programs provide students in grades First through Eighth extended learning opportunities from school dismissal until 6:00 p.m. or later following regular school days. Activities vary by school, but each program includes these main components:

  • After-School snack
  • Educational and literacy component in content areas
  • Homework time with assistance for clarification
  • Educational enrichment component (visual and performing arts, recreational, physical fitness and prevention activities.
 
Office Hours: 8:30 am - 4:00 pm
 
 
 
 You may notice a change in our name from After-School to Expanded Learning. This is due to the State renaming the After-School Program Division to the Expanded Learning Division. 
 
 
 

Schools - Site Facilitators

Acacia - Judy Sullivan                         Email: jsulliva@hemetusd.org
Bautista - Brandon Chandler               Email: bchandler@hemetusd.org
Cawston - Raquel Herbranson            Email: rherbran@hemetusd.org
Cottonwood - Emily Miller                    Email:  emiller@hemetusd.org
Dartmouth - Diana Marcial                   Email:  dmarcial@hemetusd.org
Diamond Valley - Tim Nadell                Email: tnadel@hemetusd.org
Fruitvale - Christine Cook                     Email: ccook@hemetusd.org 
Hamilton - Teresa Haeckel                   Email:  thaeckel@hemetusd,org
Harmony - Terri Holland                       Email:  Hollandterri25@gmail.com
Idyllwild -   Jennifer Moyeda                 Email:  jmoyeda@hemetusd.org
Jacob Weins - Cassandra Hernandez  Email:  chernandez2@hemetusd.org
Little Lake - Natalie Bogle                     Email:  nbogle@hemetusd.org
McSweeny - Geronimo Saenz             Email:  gsaenz@hemetusd.org
Ramona - Collette Smith                      Email:  csmith1@hemetusd.org
Rancho Viejo - Jordyn Heier                Email:  jheier@hemetusd.org
Valle Vista - Karie Heier                       Email:  Kheier@hemetusd.org
Whittier - Thonaxcy Delgadillo             Email:  tdelgadillo@hemetusd.org
Winchester - Amanda Naus                Email:  anaus@hemetusd.org

Enrollment/Policies/Applications

Our program funding relies on regular daily attendance. Therefore all students who register must attend every day that they attend school. Students who have attended the regular instructional day, but are absent from the S.A.F.E./ZONE Program without notification to the Site Facilitator for three or more days may be dropped from the program. Students who are unable to fulfill the attendance requirements will be dropped.

Applications: