Skip to main content

Hemet Unified School District

Main Menu Toggle
LCAP Make an Impact!

Academic Decathlon State Competition

For the past 18 years, a Hemet Unified school has represented Riverside County in the state competition for Academic Decathlon. This year, Hemet Unified will have two schools advancing to the state level!

After the two Saturday competition, Lake Elsinore High School won the first place trophy at the county level competition. However, due to the high scores of West Valley High School (2nd place) and Hemet High School (3rd place) they will also advance to the state competition. The three teams will represent Riverside County in Sacramento on March 23-26, 2017. 

Lake Elsinore may have won first place in the overall competition, but there were many accomplishments made by the Hemet schools. West Valley High School won first place in the Super Quiz, which was the only public part of the competition, and West Valley team member Elisha Dayag was the top individual scorer. In fact, Elisha’s score (9,414.8) is a nationally ranked score, ranking him in the 5th spot for 2017 and 16th overall since 1968 when team members were tested individually. 

Overall team scores are calculated by taking the top two scores in each category: Honors (GPA 3.75-4.00), Scholastic (GPA 3.00-3.74), and Varsity (0.00-2.99). West Valley’s final score was 46, 209.1 and Hemet High’s was 44, 025.6. 

Congratulations to the West Valley and Hemet High School’s Academic Decathlon teams; we wish you the best of luck at the state competition!



West Valley

Hemet High


Timm Hannem

Rebecca Shawver

Assistant Coach

Deena Long

Deena Long

Assistant Coach

Michael Martin

Art Plinksi

Assistant Coach

Clayton Powell

Dave Powell

Assistant Coach

Tim Shinn

Melissa Smith

Assistant Coach

Jessica Sotelo

Pat Smith

Assistant Coach

Billy Valenzuela

Judy McPherson

Assistant Coach

Christine Wong Hayes

Hyatt Baker


Cooper Smith

Kelcey Brown-Meacham


Jaiden Heggins

Luis Perez



Jeon Gordon


Erin Valenzuela

Gabby Navarro


Douglas Swayne

Ann Eisenbarth


Christina Muoio



Lauren Trevino

Michael McGivney


Elisha Dayag

Trevan Klug


Isabel Michel



Published Print