Skip to main content

Hemet Unified School District

Main Menu Toggle
LCAP Make an Impact!

S.A.F.E. & Zone After School Expanded Learning Programs

SAFE LOgo 

BASE PROGRAM APPLICATION INFORMATION: 

 

Applications are accepted ALL year for base program. Parents/Guardians will be contacted as there are available openings in the program. 

 

Registration applications will only be accepted electronically.

Applications can be completed from any electronic device, such as Ipad, Chromebook, phone, tablet, or computer.

Please note:  A separate application MUST be completed for each child you wish to enroll. 

Please click on the following link to complete an application for the 2019/20 school year.

 

All parents/guardians will be notified via email or phone call of their child's acceptance.  In order to complete the registration process parents/guardians MUST attend a mandatory meeting, which will be set up with the Site Facilitator upon enrollment or via email acceptance notification.  

 

Contact the SAFE Office at 951-658-3538 ext. 201 with any questions or if you need assistance with the electronic registration process. 

 

2019-2020 APPLICATION LINK

 

 

 S.A.F.E. & Zone After School Expanded Learning Programs

Home of the CHAMPS
 
                                                        C- Champions Inspire
                                                        H- Have Respect
                                                        A- Accountability
                                                        M- Manage Behavior
                                                        P- Positive Attitude
                                                        S- Strive for Success
 

The Students Achieving in Fun Environments (SAFE) and Zone programs are funded by Proposition 49 voted on by the citizens of California to provide a safe and nurturing environment for youth following school dismissal. Hemet Unified School District in partnership with Valley Wide Recreation and Park District and other community agencies to provide a safe after school environment for students offering opportunities for enrichment, academic support, physical education, and creative learning. 

The SAFE and Zone Programs provide students in grades Kindergarten through Eighth grade expanded learning opportunities from school dismissal until 6:00 p.m. 5 days a week. At schools where dismissal time is at 3:00 p.m. or later, the expanded learning program runs for 3 hours. Students are required to attend 5 days a week and follow release policies.  Activities vary by school site, but each program includes these main components:

  • After-School snack
  • Educational and literacy component in content areas
  • Homework time with assistance for clarification
  • Educational enrichment component (visual and performing arts, recreational, physical fitness and prevention activities.)
 
 
The SAFE and Zone Programs strive to create an expanded learning environment where all students are are given the opportunity through participation in enrichment activities and systems of support to become college and career ready. SAFE/Zone programs implement PBIS, Mindfulness, and many other systems of support aligned with the district. For more information please click on the link below. 
 
 
For more information regarding background information, program objectives, and requirements for the After School Education and Safety Program, please visit the California Department of Education web page at https://www.cde.ca.gov/ls/ba/as/pgmdescription.asp
 
***You may notice a change in our name from After-School to Expanded Learning. This is due to the State renaming the After-School Program Division to the Expanded Learning Division.***
 

Contact Information

For general program questions and information, you may contact the SAFE Office at (951) 658-3538 or via email at safe@hemetusd.org

Office Hours: 8:30 am - 4:00 pm Monday-Friday.

The SAFE Office is located at 831 E. Devonshire, Avenue, Hemet, CA 92543.

 

SCHOOL: SITE FACILITATOR:   EMAIL:
Acacia Middle School: Judy Sullivan
  jsulliva@hemetusd.org 
Bautista Creek Elementary: Jordyn Heier   jheier@hemetusd.org
Cawston Elementary: Raquel Herbranson   rherbran@hemetusd.org
Cottonwood K-8:    Laura Hafner   lhafner@hemetusd.org
Dartmouth Middle: Tamara Coronel   tcoronel@hemetusd.org
Diamond Valley Middle: Jamie Williams   jwilliams@hemetusd.org
Fruitvale Elementary: Ashley Parks   agalindo@hemetusd.org
Hamilton K-8: Teresa Haeckel   thaeckel@hemetusd,org
Harmony Elementary: Terri Holland   tholland@hemetusd.org
Hemet Elementary: Wendy Leyva   wleyva@hemetusd.org 
Idyllwild K-8: Jannette Santiago   jsantiago@hemetusd.org 
Jacob Wiens Elementary: Cassandra Hernandez
  chernandez2@hemetusd.org 
Little Lake Elementary: Kortney Willison   kwillison@hemetusd.org
McSweeny Elementary: Geronimo Saenz   gsaenz@hemetusd.org
Ramona Elementary: Melissa Phillips    mphillips1@hemetusd.org
Rancho Viejo Middle:    Pamela Radford   pradford@hemetusd.org
Valle Vista Elementary: Karie Heier   kheier@hemetusd.org 
Whittier Elementary: Tim Nadel   tnadel@hemetusd.org 
Winchester Elementary: Breanna Harwood   bharwoodl@hemetusd.org 

 

 

2019 SUMMER JAM APPLICATION INFO:

 

***Summer Jam operates from June 6- June 28, 2019. Students will be placed in the program as spaces are available.  ***

 

Registration applications will only be accepted electronically.

Applications can be completed from any electronic device, such as Ipad, Chromebook, phone, tablet, or computer.

Please note:  A separate application MUST be completed for each child you wish to enroll. 

Please click on the following link to complete a SUMMER JAM application.

 

Summer Jam June 2019

 

All parents/guardians will be notified via email or phone call of their child's acceptance.  In order to complete the registration process parents/guardians MUST attend a mandatory meeting, which will be set up with the Site Facilitator upon enrollment or via email acceptance notification.  

 

Contact the SAFE Office at 951-658-3538 ext. 201 with any questions or if you need assistance with the electronic registration process. 


 

 

 

 

 

Program Policies:

Our program funding relies on regular daily attendance. Therefore all students who register must attend every day that they attend school. Students who have attended the regular instructional day, but are absent from the S.A.F.E./ZONE Program without notification to the Site Facilitator for three or more days may be dropped from the program. Students who are unable to fulfill the attendance requirements will be dropped. Please see Parent Policies PDF below for all policies. 

 

 
We're Hiring Clip art 
Permanent and substitute positions are available through our partner program, Valley- Wide Recreation and Park District. If you are interested in working with the SAFE & Zone Expanded Learning Programs, please visit the Valley- Wide Recreation and Park District for application information. You may also call the SAFE Office at (951) 658-3538 for more information.